Kuala Lumpur, 7 July – A book titled Law, Principles, and Practice in the Dewan Rakyat (House of Representatives) of Malaysia was launched by the Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat, Tan Sri Dato’ Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof today. The book is a documentation of the law, principles, and practice of the Parliament, particularly the Dewan Rakyat as a grand institution and the highest legislative body in the country.

The publication of the book is intended to serve as a guide and a source of reference to Members of Parliament, parliamentary officers, government officers, and interested parties in the running and functioning of Parliament. The book presents the intricacies of the Dewan Rakyat and its interplay between the Federal Constitution and the Standing Orders and other related legislation.

The book is divided into six parts and consists of 28 chapters that cover the constitutional framework of the Parliament, the functions and institutions of Parliament, the parliamentary process, the rights and privileges of Parliament and its members, and the Parliament, society, and reform.

The writing of the book has included the necessary input from various contributors in their respective fields of expertise. Aside from the Speaker as the Editor-in-Chief and the main contributor, other contributors are former Clerks of the Dewan Rakyat, senior officers in the Dewan Rakyat Management Division, parliamentary research officers and officers in the Speaker’s office, legal practitioners, members of academia, and the Chairman of the Election Commission of Malaysia. The research officers from the Research and Library Division, Parliament of Malaysia who has involved and contributed to the publication of the book are Amy Tam Lay Choon, Idzuafi Hadi Kamilan, and Muthanna Saari.

The book can be ordered and purchased here or by contacting the above mentioned research officers.

Scroll Up